Still Have Both My Ears

I don’t have high confidence in my artistic abilities, but I saw a place near me has painting classes every so often, kinda like I did with the barn girls a while back.  That sounded like a fun Saturday night so I signed myself up.

The class was held in a cute artsy building… divided into two classrooms.  I’m not sure what the people up front were painting – maybe something super tricky — but I was ushered into the back with the rest of the rookies.

We were given a blank canvas, two brushes and a paper plate decorated with puddles of white, yellow, green, blue and black paint.

The instructor showed us what we were going to paint — a bright moon and the Eiffel Tower – with some water underneath.

I was a little concerned that we weren’t going to sketch anything out first… just jump right into painting… but she did give us step by step instructions so it wasn’t too hard, and I found myself really getting into it.

IMG_20140329_201148_437

This was my moon and reflection on the water… tower to be added next.  You can see how we mixed up the colors to get the right shades.  My hands were covered in paint, but they did provide aprons so my clothes were not.

IMG953311

I smile when I’m painting.   Look at all the other people, taking their art so seriously.

IMG_20140329_212015_094

Ta-da!  Well, you can kinda see the tower.  Some of it got cut off.  It was a fun experience, and since they paint different things all the time (check out the walls in the background), I plan to go back and try something else.

Might be a fun thing to do when you come visit …hint…hint…

6 thoughts on “Still Have Both My Ears

  1. love the picture, Robyn….the picture of you with your picture….I’m taking that hint too! That WOULD be fun.

  2. Still considering searching for a “train to San Antone”. If I do, I might be good at that painting thing; I stopped after 8th-grade Art, but only because my pencil-sketch didn’t look like what I intended, so that “no sketching” deal might be a plus for me.

  3. I totally want to do this, but I would stink at it, I’m sure. Probably laugh at myself the whole time (also not taking my art seriously). Your picture reminds me of “Starry Night.” I’m glad you emailed me about this post because I got to see the others I hadn’t known about also. Your condo looks really nice. Care to take more pictures now that you have furniture in?

  4. First, I love your painting! Second, I love Mel’s comment. Hilarious! I will totally do this when I come visit you, and mine will look terrible and it will be awesome. We’ll make sure it’s displayed prominently in your condo. Max will love it.

Leave a Reply

